Book 15: Persepolis

Persepolis is a French-language autobiographical graphic novel by Marjane Satrapi depicting her childhood up to her early adult years in Iran during and after the Islamic revolution. The title is a reference to the ancient capital of the Persian Empire, Persepolis.

– From Wikipedia

On the day I’m supposed to begin Persepolis I find myself nearly 100 pages ahead; this is due to a combination of the two previous books in my 26 book challenge being cracking reads that I’ve flown through, and Persepolis itself being a graphic novel (and an equally swift read).

It’s been lovely to get into books that are a genuine delight, after struggling with books that were either not to my taste, brilliant but difficult, or probably brilliant but extremely difficult; and taking such pleasure in reading has set me really looking forward to next year when I can begin ploughing through my own list of books-to-read (of that, no doubt, more later in the year).

What are your “brilliant and easy” book-based pleasures?

2 thoughts on “Book 15: Persepolis

  1. Pingback: 2012′s 26 book challenge: The list | Al Online

  2. Pingback: Book 16: The Discovery of Heaven | Al Online

Reply

