Back to blogging

In October 2002 I published a website all about me. At its centre was my blog. I was 16 and knew everything knowable about religion, politics, art and morality. Moreover all the opinions I held about those subjects were almost certainly correct.

Happily, some years later I realised how arrogant that attitude was, and took the blog down (though I retain a copy – as, no doubt, does the internet, somewhere in its vast, unforgetting archives). Now, hopefully somewhat more mature, gracious and self-aware, I return to the medium. Here’s what I plan to blog about:

Films

I’m an uncommonly ruthless film critic. Most films attract my ire, by being bad in numerous and, more importantly, needless ways. More easily pleased film-lovers struggle to empathise with my dissatisfaction, and I’m not good at explaining my opinions – at least not on the way out of the cinema. I need time to digest a film before I can fairly and eloquently verbalise my reaction. I hope this blog will be a space in which, having taken that time, I can review films clearly, frankly and educationally, and compare my responses to others’.

Books

In 2011 I read one book1. My challenge for 2012 is to read 26. As an Open University student of English Literature I imagine this will be good practice, as will discussing my reactions to them online. The 26 books have been chosen by my friends and family, and I hope that making this challenge a social experience will help me relish – rather than dread – it.

The web

I’m a digital copy-editor, so my work revolves around social media, blogging, email marketing, online writing and so on. Luckily for me and my employers, these are subjects in which I have a strong interest. It will be fun to discuss them.

News

I spend far too much time keeping up with current affairs and commentary. It’s the pleasure that will probably be most curtailed in my attempt to read a book every fortnight, but I suspect I’ll still find time to find out what’s going on outside my paperbacks, and what the world thinks about it. And when I wish to respond, I’ll do so here.

Me

From time to time may happen something so personally significant that I feel it’s worth writing about at length. I hope you’ll help me celebrate, or commiserate, those time to times.

Is there anything else about which you’d like me to write? Let me know in the comments.

Al

1 Maus, by Art Spiegelman

9 thoughts on “Back to blogging

    • Yes, I really enjoyed Maus. I’d like to read more great graphic novels, but my experiences have been hit and miss so far (Hit: Maus; Watchmen; V for Vendetta. Miss: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen; The Invisibles; Sandman). Persepolis is on the list for 2012. I wasn’t as keen on the film as many critics but perhaps I’ll enjoy the book more…

      • I concur re: Maus, though I’m surprised you didn’t like Sandman. I won’t try and convince you otherwise, as I’m sure better people than me have failed :P
        If you’re wanting great graphic novels, you should maybe give “Y: the Last Man”, a try. In the first issue, every living thing with a Y chromosome dies, save for a loser escapologist and his pet monkey.
        It’s really intelligently written (the author also wrote some stuff for Lost and another comic called “Ex Machina”, which isn’t quite so good), beautifully drawn, and, for obvious reasons, is quite deconstructive of gender roles and ideas.

        Out of interest, what else is on your list?

Reply

